120th anniversary of the Residentie Orkest 

Beethoven's Symphony No. 5

Nov. 22 | 8:15 p.m.
Buy tickets
Friday 22 November
Amare Concert Hall, The Hague
From €36
Conductor: Anja Bihlmaier
Piano: Javier Perianes
This concert is part of the Symphonic Friday - Medium series.

The Residentie Orkest is celebrating its 120th anniversary. This unique moment calls for a unique symphony and a grand spectacle – Beethoven's Symphony No. 5, a symbol of the struggle and triumph of the human spirit. We look forward to treating each other and our audience to this bold and unparalleled piece of music.

The famous, powerful opening motif of Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 is repeated and transformed throughout the work in a dramatic progression from darkness to light, from fear to joy, from conflict to harmony. Chief conductor Anja Bihlmaier will set off a display of musical fireworks tonight. Bihlmaier is known for her spontaneity and musical intuition. Additionally, you'll witness soloist Javier Perianes perform Schumann's Romantic Piano Concerto – one of the greatest works in the piano repertoire – and Ligeti's Concert Românesc, a symphonic celebration of Romanian folklore, delivered with contemporary flair.