Piano and orchestra in passionate dialogue

Prokofiev & Schumann

09 May | 20:15
Buy tickets
Friday 09 May
Amare Concert Hall, The Hague
From €36
Conductor: Ruth Reinhardt
Piano: Isata Kanneh-Mason
This concert is part of the Symphonic Friday - Large series.

Tonight will bring a delightful blend of playfulness and precision, flashiness and finesse. Taking her seat at the piano will be the wonderful young soloist Isata Kanneh-Mason. Isata is part of the Kanneh-Mason family, an extraordinarily talented musical family of seven children, all of whom are gifted musicians – including cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason. Isata has previously performed  Piano Concerto No. 3 by Sergei Prokofiev, a rebel and innovator, at the BBC. She will now bring it to life with the Residentie Orkest. A dynamic and rhythmic piece, exuberant and bold, it will make for a thrilling display of talent and technique.

Tonight's programme also features Schumann's Symphony No. 4, originally written as a heartfelt birthday present for his beloved Clara, back when life was still carefree – a dazzling, dramatic masterpiece. Also on the programme is Felix Mendelssohn's Die schöne Melusine, an overture with a beautiful, fairytale-like beginning. The German conductor Ruth Reinhardt will return to The Hague tonight, bringing her energy, precision and profound insights to complement Isata Kanneh-Mason's talent. It promises to be an unforgettable evening of music.