Symphonic landscapes

Rachmaninov 2

friday, december 01
Amare Concert Hall, The Hague
From € 34,-
Conductor: Lawrence Renes
Piano: Ralph van Raat
Unfortunately, this concert has already taken place. But not to worry! We will be playing many more concerts soon.

He wraps nature in notes, composes symphonic landscapes, writes the music of the climate problem. American composer John Luther Adams clearly draws his inspiration from nature. From landscapes, snow plains, tundra, deserts and the ocean. 'Ostensibly silence reigns, but if you listen carefully, you hear sound constantly,' Adams himself says of it. Tonight Ralph van Raat, the specialist in newly written piano works, plays the Dutch premiere of Adam's Piano Concerto Prophecies of Stone.

Climate and nature are close to the heart of Residentie Orkest . We are therefore co-commissioning Adam's piano concerto. His philosophical scores on the theme of eco and sustainability won him the Pulitzer Prize for music and a Grammy Award in 2014. From Adam's grand musical landscape paintings, it is a small step to Rachmaninov's epic work. Dutch conductor Lawrence Renes takes you through the endless stream of romantic landscapes of Rachmaninov's Second Symphony.

"Ralph van Raat's playing combines powerful projection with a neo-Romantic sensibility, focusing on important details while rarely losing sight of the music's dynamic swell and sweep."

- Gramophone

Lawrence Renes
Ralph van Raat
John Luther Adams (photo Donald Lee)